National Assembly adopts wetland area

As part of the World Wetland Day celebration, the Seychelles National Assembly adopted the wetland area that surrounds the parliamentary compound. This activity forms part of an internal initiative to promote environmental awareness, their aims are:

ADOPT the area to manage and protect them for future generations

RESTORE in order to increase the biodiversity and provide a home for wildlife

EDUCATE Members & Staff on the importance of wetlands

The Minister for Ministry of Agriculture, Climate Change and Environment, Mr. Flavien Joubert was present to witness such remarkable gesture by the legislative. Addressing the guest at the ceremony, Minister Joubert commended the Seychelles National Assembly for such initiative which cements the commitment of politicians to be people of actions not only of word.

Minister Joubert declared that Seychelles has committed itself to lower the amount of Green House Gases in the atmosphere in its 2015 updated INDCs (Intended Nationally Determined Contribution), of which wetlands plays a vital role to achieve this target.

“Coastal wetlands, comprising of mangrove forest are vital in the fight to lower the GHGs as they are regarded as massive carbon sink, and offers other essential services, such as, protection for coastal areas, enhancement of biodiversity and protecting other ecosystems such as seagrass and coral reefs from pollutants. This ambitious initiative by the National Assembly fits well within the theme for this year declared by the “Ramsar” Convention on Wetlands, which is “Wetlands Action for People and nature”. The actions by our politicians will surely reap dividends in the future, in diversifying the types of mangroves in this area and thus improving the habitat for fish and other crustaceans and feeding ground for sea birds” said Minister Joubert

After the unveiling of the plaque by Speaker, Hon. Roger Mancienne and Deputy Speaker Gervais Henri, the guests attended a presentation on nature and characteristics of wetlands, held by Mr. Terence Vel who is an active environmentalist and also member from the Save Our Seas Foundation.

Present at the ceremony were also the Deputy Clerk Mrs. Alexandria Faure, Leader of Government Business Mr. Bernard George, few Members of the National Assembly and staff from the Ministry of Environment.